Senior Scholarship Juried Visual Art Exhibition

Juried Visual Art Exhibition

New Trier seniors and their families attended an opening reception and awards presentation for the Senior Visual Arts Juried Exhibition on March 15th at New Trier High School's Winnetka Campus Ann Brierly Gallery. This show provides senior high school art students the opportunity to share their body of artwork with the school and community.

Niki Urban was the recipient of the Nancy Joyce Murray Award provided by Dick Blick of Evanston. She will be asked to gift New Trier High School one artwork for permanent display in the school.

Four students received Distinction Awards . Distinction Awards were presented to:
Marcus Chong, Izzy Gagliardi, Carynn Jo Randolph, Hank Rahaley (each Distinction Award was a gift card generously donated by Dick Blick's of Evanston).

The North Shore Arts League brings in two jurors for their annual awards. During the evening reception, Linda Nelson, president of the North Shore Art League shared the award recipients. Marcus Chong and Niki Urban received the Nancy & Sanfred Koltun Scholarship. Annie Free received the Paul Weinger Memorial Scholarship.

The Rhode Island School of Design established its Annual Art Award in 1984. Each year, a select number of secondary schools with noteworthy programs in the visual arts are invited by RISD's president to nominate an accomplished artist from the senior class to receive this distinction. The award is a book of special interest to aspiring artists and designers, which is presented at the school's annual award ceremony. Brandes LaFevers received this distinguished Book Award from Rhode Island School of Design.

Sora Seals received the Ann Brierly Scholarship. Ann Brierly, a former New Trier art student, was passionate and committed to her art making but was killed in a tragic accident. Ann's mother, Carol Brierly Golin, established the Ann Brierly Memorial Scholarship to encourage other young artists to pursue their passion.

Each year, the New Trier Art Faculty awards a deserving senior art student for the Justine Stevens Memorial Photography Scholarship. This student must show great promise and potential in the arts with a passion for photography. This year's deserving recipient is Maggie DiPatri .