National Merit Semifinalists

NT Semifinalists 2019 Photo

Thirty-five New Trier High School students have been named as Semifinalists in the prestigious National Merit Scholarship competition.

Of about 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools across the country who entered the 2020 program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), only approximately 16,000 earned the Semifinalist designation. This nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of all U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest scoring entrants of the state, who will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student's earlier performance on the qualifying test. The Semifinalist's participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received must also be submitted.

Approximately 15,000 Semifinalists are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and Merit Scholar designees will be selected based on their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

New Trier's 2020 National Merit Semifinalists are:

Anna Arthur; Pearce Bailey; Ayah Bajwa; Mira Becker; Maggie Cao; Patrick Condon; Nadharm Dhiantravan; Phillip Ellison; Elizabeth Fisher; Jacob Furfine; Colin Glew; Kathryn Hemmer; Tinah Hong; Taylor Jones; Lydia Kaup; Andrew Kearney; Maia Law; Margaret Lin; Erin McNally; Alexander Nagel; Aryoman Patel; Kathryn Pickens; Emilie Rivkin; Jane Rosin; Talia Schacht; Alina Scholz; Finja Scholz; Thomas Serrino; Karthik Srinivasan; Shivam Tailor; Markus Tam; Jacob Wachtel; Keyler White; Jesse Yang; and Jason Yuan.

More information on the National Merit Scholarship Program is available through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, .