New Trier’s annual Lagniappe-Potpourri presents first digital show

From Scratch

Lagniappe-Potpourri: From Scratch kicks off the 2020-2021 New Trier High School Performing Arts Season with digital premieres of a recorded show.

The third and last episode of "Lagniappe-Potpourri: From Scratch" is TONIGHT (Thurs, Oct 8) at 7:00pm using THIS LINK . Please click HERE to download a copy of the program. Following these premieres, all three installments will be available "on demand" on the New Trier website."

Lagniappe-Potpourri features student-created scenes, songs, and dances as well as student-designed sets, lights, props, and costumes. Students are supervised in all levels of production and decision-making including building, choreographing, composing, conducting, designing, directing, managing, marketing, performing, producing and writing. Lagniappe-Potpourri gives students the opportunity to develop as student leaders, artists, and team members.

Lagniappe-Potpourri: From Scratch will be presented in three installments and will be available on the New Trier High School Performing Arts webpage ( ) at the following times:

  • Episode One: Thursday, September 24, at 7 p.m.
  • Episode Two: Thursday, October 1, at 7 p.m.
  • Episode Three: Thursday, October 8, at 7 p.m.

"The challenges this year presented have given our Student Board leadership opportunities in some of the most unique and complicated circumstances, helping them grow as both leaders and people," said Student Producer Katie Klaskin.

"Lagniappe-Potpourri has been an incredible way for New Trier students to address and talk about the complex and changing world we are living in," added student producer Isabel Mangum.

"Guiding the students through the making of an original musical every year is never easy," said Head Sponsor Nina Lynn. "This year's pandemic added a level of complexity that we quickly understood would require adaptation. Using Zoom, Google Docs, iMovie, and Soundtrap, we worked hard to meet the core goals of the activity and also embrace the chance for us all to learn and experiment together. The adult staff couldn't be prouder of this outstanding group of young leaders and artists."


Josh Agrest, Zara Bedella, Haley Bianco, Aruni Chenxi, Frederick Crone, Martha Dawson, Maddox Eckert, Iris Ely, Ana Flinton, Celia Goldstein, Andrew Hungness, Eric Liu, Jake Mastrofski, Mia Moline, Ava Naghshineh, Jenna Oshana, Ethan Penn, Alexis Rosenberg, Natalia Scheinfeld, Rockwell Shapiro, Angelica She, Madeline Sheedy, Timothy Whang, Henry Witt, and Sam Wolf.


Charlie Baron, Blake Beeler, Kat Blasko, Ava Bozzo, Izzy Fischer, Natalie Fischer, Bella Friedman, Matthew Geis, Sophie Gies, Maggie Gorelick, Joshua Grossman, Sara Grossman, Wynne Hague, Isabel Hajjar, Sage Harper, Roxie Harris, Grace Hepburn, Alice Hu, Reed Jaberg, Annika Juliusson, Hope Kim, Tiger Lee, Jack Malmed, Owen Merrill, Rachel Miller, Svaja Nicklin, Sammy Obel, Sarah Olson, Victor Pascucci IV, Elizabeth Payne, Ericka Pugliese, Maggie Rennie, Trenton Rothbard, Fiona Sack, Arianna Schiff, Maya Szal, Grace Traxler, Katie Truszkowski, Mia von Varga, Jonathan Wolf, Grace Yu, and Gabi Zinman.


Miguel Alano, Alberto Ayerza, Bella Baratta, Jasper Bickers, Isabelle Cowan, Iris Ely, Daniel Friedland, Lucy Gale, Paul Graham, Emma Greenlees, Elizabeth Hoffhines, Ethan Hoffman, Meeghan Jakob, Connor Kane, Katie Klaskin, Ally Kleinmann, Jefferson Lin, Eric Liu, Isabel Mangum, Owen May, Carter McDermott, Rebecca Miller, Julie Oelerich, Charlie Plunkett, Paige Sheridan, Pearl Shing-Roth, Will Stevens, Elizabeth Stone, Harold Stricklin, Amelia Tam, Katie Weis, Evie Wigdale, and Henry Witt.


Alberto Ayerza, Olivia Babolea, Charlie Baron, Jasper Bickers, Claire Cohen, Daniel Friedland, Lucy Gale, Sam Gordon, Paul Graham, Emma Greenlees, Elizabeth Hoffhines, Ethan Hoffman, Meeghan Jakob, Connor Kane, Katie Klaskin, Ally Kleinmann, Isabel Mangum, Owen May, Carter McDermott, Julie Oelerich, Robbie Petrie, Juliette Rechtin, Paige Sheridan, Pearl Shing-Roth, Will Stevens, Elizabeth Stone, Harold Stricklin, Katie Weis, and Gabi Zinman.


  • Nina Lynn - Head Sponsor/Producing Mentor
  • Ryan Dunn - Assistant Sponsor/Writing Mentor
  • Matt Temple - Assistant Sponsor/Music Mentor
  • Dave Ferguson - Technical Theatre Mentor
  • Anders Jacobson - Technical Theatre Mentor
  • Denise Karczewski - Technical Theatre Mentor
  • Hilerre Kirsch - Winnetka Performing Arts Coordinator/Directing Mentor
  • Anne James-Noonan - Northfield Performing Arts Coordinator
  • Katie Kritek - Choreography Mentor
  • Emily Arnold Daugherty - Costuming Mentor
  • Bruce Daugherty - Conducting Mentor
  • Malcolm Ruhl - Arranging/Composing Mentor
  • Grover Hollway - Sound Mentor
  • Helen Lattyak - Stage Management Mentor

New Trier Township High School District 203 serves Chicago's North Shore suburban communities of Glencoe, Kenilworth, Wilmette and Winnetka, most of Northfield and parts of Glenview and Northbrook.