Freshman-Sophomore Musical Workshop


    The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

    Music & Lyrics by Book By

    William Finn Rachel Sheinkin

    Conceived by
    Rebecca Feldman

    Additional Material
    by Jay Reiss

    Originally Directed on Broadway by James Lapine

    Originally produced on Broadway by

    David Stone, James L. Nederlander, Barbara Whitman, Patrick Catullo
    Barrington Stage Company, Second Stage Theatre

    The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.

    Thursday, November 30, 2023 @ 7:00pm
    Friday, December 1, 2023 @ 4:30pm
    Saturday, December 2, 2023 @ 2:00pm
    Saturday, December 6, 2023 @ 6:00pm

    Cornog Auditorium

    Northfield Campus

    Winner of the Tony and the Drama Desk Awards for Best Book, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee has charmed audiences across the country with its effortless wit and humor. Featuring a fast-paced, wildly funny and touching book by Rachel Sheinkin and a truly fresh and vibrant score by William Finn, this bee is one unforgettable experience.

    An eclectic group of mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home lives, the tweens spell their way through a series of (potentially made-up) words, hoping never to hear the soul-crushing, pout-inducing, life un-affirming "ding" of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. Many spellers enter; one speller leaves a champion! At least the losers get a juice box.

    A riotous ride, complete with audience participation, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is a delightful den of comedic genius.  

    Director Laura Wesslund says, “This group of students is incredibly talented and creative! I have enjoyed seeing them take on these bold characters and create families and stories beyond what is given to them in the script. We’re very excited to share our creation with audiences. We hope everyone who comes to the show gets to relax and have a hearty laugh at our silly show!” 

    Tickets are $12 General Admission and may be purchased at or


    Emma Balzano, Sivan Belkind, Jorie Collins, Charlie Corley, Julia Dale, Emilia (Axel) Darby, Sara Deodhar, Mireya Devaraj, Belle Diamond, Ethan Epstein, Olivia Felicione, Matt Flaherty, Thomas Franklin, Nate Gale, Lily Generes, Rowan Giller, Gwen Girard, Ava Graham, Scarlett Harper, Olivia Harris, Katie Henken, Gabriel Herman, Dylan Hostert, Harry Hoynes, Deena Husain, Lucie Kolot, Phoebe Kunzler, Evan LeeMaster, Caitlin Lefebvre, Kate Malikowski, Knox Noble, Isabel Passen, Eden Pave, Eve Petrovic, Jack Porter, Maggie Ruey, Mara Saltzman, Sadie Snyder, Shea Straitiff, Maribel Tadelman, Haven Turner, Madeleine Wentz, Caroline Wolfe, Elaine Xu

    Student Stage Manager

    Sully Pierre

    Rehearsal Assistants

    Delfi Ayerza, Alex Barry, Maddy Jorgensen, Sydney Russie


    Laura Alcorn, Ella Bostrom, Ava Chaplick, Sofia Fernandez, Madz Generes, Devin Gibori, Alice Green, Julia Handelman, Ben Holtzman, Noa Jackier, Leeli Jackson, Danial Jung, Alex Kamins, Rosie Kelso, Luka Macika, Kira McClellan, Marie Mohr, Adam Puljic, Will Radzik, Charlotte Rimmer, Kate Ring, Sofia Serrano, Sai Isha Swaminathan, Ava Thomas, Olivia Ty, Benjamin Walsh, Addison Yanez

    Pit Orchestra Members

    Alexa Angres, Beckett Grossner, Ilana Jacoby, Daniel Song, Jenna Maclachlan, Abraham Pinargote

    Production Staff

    Laura Wesslund, Director

    Amy Branahl, Music Director

    Elizabeth Bennett, Pit Orchestra Director

    Denise Karczewski, Technical Director

    Lucy Riner, Choreographer

    Gregory Shifrin, Accompanist

    Alaina Moore, Costume Designer

    Rick Sims, Sound Designer